Home Forums Melanoma Diagnosis: Stage IV Advice Request: IPI vs. IL2 for Stage IV

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 44 total)
  • Author
    goldfidler
    Participant

Hello,

I have been a regular on the site for the last 15 months, but mostly in the “Newly Diagnosed Stage III/IV” and the “Stage III” boards. As of Monday, Oct 13th, I am now officially Stage IV.

I just posted a message on the “Newly Diagnosed” board, asking for advice and experience with IPI and IL-2. If you do not regularly visit that board but have any advice about various immunotherapies, I would appreciate it if you could take a moment to read that post.

I have zero experience in this new world and would appreciate any advice you might have.

Thank you very much…

jualonso
    Participant

Hi goldfidler,

i have no experience with those drugs, but in 10 days i will start IPI.

in my opinion IL2 is too toxic and the rate response is very low. I know that sometimes rate is not so important (i had very low possibilities to progress from stage 1 to stage 4, and it happened), what is important is where we are, and unfortunately, we dont know it. I bet to IPI because is needed to anti Pd1, and althought could be toxic as well, not in the same level as IL2 and long term survivors you can find more than 10 years.

hope it helps

Jualonso

Anonymous

So sorry you had to join the Stage IV forum. :(

However, there is much help and support here.

To start, where do you live and what clinical trials have you investigated?

A combo IPI/PD1 trial would be a good first choice if available to you.

Jeff

goldfidler
    Participant

I live in south FL. My oncologist is Dr. Jose Lutzsky at Mt Sinai Cancer Center.

I am slated to join Phase 2 of the MEDI4736 in Nov. Dr Lutzsky stated both IPI and

IL2 are available to me, but he is recommending IL2 because my demographic

has better than average results. My reaction results would be known within weeks. If I am getting