• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    unclescar
    Participant

I have been viewing this wonderful site for 2 years and want to say thank you Catherine and Worrywart for being here for so many people. 2 years ago I had what looked like a small red rash very mild right in the middle of my forehead. It was very nondiscript maybe a soap allergic reaction. Saw the derm who said it was nothing maybe a allergic reaction. Gave me some cream to get rid of it. Well it did not work. She then said lets take a sample of it and send it to a lab. Came back as some sort of keratosis. Put me on Efudex. Turned my whole forehead red and seemed to work. Soon the red went away,but the middle started to weep and blister. Derm told me it may just be an overactive oil gland. She informed me that I may need to have Mohs surgery. 10 months from the original lab work, My Wife set me up with a different Derm. The first time she saw the red spot she was concerned and took a sample to send to John Wayne Cancer Center.That monday she called us in and let us know that it was a melanoma. The punch biopsy made it a In situ, and she already booked me for the oncologist at John Wayne Cancer Center ( JWCC). After the surgery I met with the Oncologist who then informed me that I did not clear margins and the path report came back as .65 mm superficial. He also was very concerned with the location so he urged me to check the lymphs. Also because they already cut away as much forehead on the first surgery I would need a skin graph with a plastic surgeon. After this next round of surgery’s I was informed I cleared margins, and no lymph involvement.(Whew)