Home Forums Melanoma Diagnosis: Stage IV Best Cancer Centers in US/ New Diag

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    SMLink
    Participant

Hello… Well i am new to all this … Never blogged before been reading alot on this website since I was diagnosed w/ IV metastatic Melanoma in July. I AM hoping I can utilize this through my journey as it seems to help alot of others. I am 45 yrs old , with a wonderful husband and two young boys, 10 and 7.

My story is as follows. Found melanoma in lung in June , had lobectomy.Surgery was tough road but finally recovered after several months.

During recovery had MRI of brain ..found 2 mets. Had stereotactic radio surgery to keep them from growing… Still waiting on followup to see how it worked, in fact I have an MRI again tomorrow.

Just had CT scan of chest and abdomen that showed more mets.. 2 in liver , 2 more in lung.

My oncologist here (IN, USA) wants me to start Yervoy to get mets under control before starting an additional radiation to liver . As I completely respect my Oncologist here., his specialty isn’t just Melanoma. I am wanting to go where they Eat , breathe and Sleep Melanoma. He is happy to refer me and has recommend MD Anderson in TX,or Sloan-Kettering and/or Dana -Faeber institute. Wanted to get feedback and recommendations.

It is pretty clear my Mel is aggressive and I want to “Fight like a Girl ” and kick it across AMerica but need help. By the way , right now I am feeling good and not having any “real ” complaints which makes all this seem unreal at times. I have had so much love and support from family and friends has been more than remarkable.

Shelley

Gabsound
    Participant

Hi Shelley,

Sorry you are having to join this “club”. I can’t comment on the major melanoma centers, but wanted to say the combination of Iplimumab (Yervoy) and radiation can be especially effective.

Good luck and keep us posted.

Julie

erinmay22
    Participant