Home Forums Melanoma Diagnosis: Stage IV Brain Met – please need your opinion

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    mariag
    Participant

Hello everyone,

I am a “newbie”to this site. I am still learning how to use the site so forgive me if I make any mistakes.

I think that you are so wonderful to help each other & share experiences. I am lucky that I found you and I need your help.

I am a stage 4 patient. After doing IPI, I was cancer free for over 12 months.

This week I had scans and I got devastating news. I have a “5” mm lesion of the posterior left frontal subcortical white matter. This is my first brain met and I have NO tumors anywhere else. I am very scared. Getting a brain met was my worse fear in life.

I just moved to Southern California. I am considering crainotomy and Novalis SRS ( not Cyberknife or Gamma Knife)

I would sincerely appreciate any input and experience you have with SRS & crainotomy.My main concern are these 4 areas:

1. SIDE EFFECTS- Comparing SRS & Crainotomy: How has your experience (side effects) with SRS or Crainotomy effected your health that you still are having problems dealing with long term side effects? What is your experience with side effects

2. STERIODS & ANTI-SEIZURE MEDS-I have read past posts using the search function that because of side effects of SRS & Crainotomy that you have to take steriods & anti-seizure medicine. Is that true? For both the SRS & Crainotomy are steriods & anti-seizure medicine necessary? What is your experience with steriods & anti-seizure medicine.

3. MORE THAN 1 BRAIN MET-I have heard that if you have 1 brain met, you will probably get more because more microscope cells are highly likely in the brain. Has anyone just had 1 brain met and for how long ago was that???