• This topic is empty.
Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    mable
    Participant

Hello all,

This is my first time to post here. I was diagnosed with a Stage 1 MM in July of 2016 at the age of 41. Per my path report (read by a dermopath), I had 0.35mm lesion with no mitosis in the dermal layer, one mitotic cell in the epidermis, no ulceration and a pathologic stage T1a. Three weeks later, I had a WLE with clear margins and no evidence of residual melanoma detected. I have had several biopsies since then, approximately a dozen now, and all have come back with dysplastic changes. I have one area on my thigh that has re pigimented after the initial biopsy. The biopsy of that area reported a dysplastic lesion, but to be safe, my derm has recommend another WLE.

The reason for all this is that my father, who had an initial melanoma about 22 years ago – stage 2 with negative SLB and no known recurrent lesion, passed away earlier this year with a very aggressive (BRAF positive and NRAS positive) melanoma that had mets to the brain, spine, lungs and sacrum. He was diagnosed after stroke like symptoms from the brain mass and passed away 7 weeks later. His chest Xray a year earlier (taken for a gall bladder surgery) was clear, but after the diagnosis that the melanoma had returned, he had metastatic multiple nodules in both lungs. He had only started having back pain a few weeks prior, so all the oncologist said was this was a fast, aggressive MM and that it is uncommon to see both a positive BRAF and NRAS mutation.