Home Forums Melanoma Diagnosis: Stages I &II Getting very concerned after Dr’s appt!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Worrywart
    Participant

Hi! I haven’t been on here in a while, busy with school starting and have had terrible headaches. I’ve been lifting weights for past 3 months. The past week and a half I’ve had a severe one sided throbbing headache as soon as I start lifting. I was hoping it would go away on its own but it’s just gotten worse. I’ve never had headaches before in my life unless I had a fever or virus. I tried chiropractor first and had adjustment – didn’t help – so today I went to Dr hoping to get meds for exertion headache. I told her my symptoms and she said – just so you know, exertion headaches are VERY worrisome, and with your history of melanoma we need to make sure it isn’t metastatic disease so we will schedule an MRI for next week. She said melanoma LOVES the brain. I said to the PCP —-I had in situ, so isn’t it highly unlikely that its related? She said – unlikely but not impossible, I’ve seen it happen. Now I’m getting worried! And I’m a little pissed at her comments too. Has anyone on here had exertion headaches? They are severe one sided headache in one part of my head when I lift or do leg press, etc.

Jenni
    Participant

First off, I don’t like this PCP, she should not start out by worrying you! :) Secondly, I haven’t had headaches like this but from what I know about them they are not always worrisome. It could be a switch in diet, dehydration or many things. Don’t let it worry you!

I have shooting pains sometimes in certain spots of my head and it comes and goes. Some weeks are bad and then weeks will go by without them.

Let us know how the test turns out. BUT really, I don’t think you have anything related to melanoma, she doesn’t know her facts!

Jenni

cohanja
    Participant