• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    cut52
    Participant

I will be having my LND on my right groin Oct.16th. I have already set up a therapist who specializes in lymphedema cases, and am being proactive in getting a fitting for a full leg sock. It is very important for me to try and avoid lymphedema because I am a pilot and flying does make it worse. Also, in the procedure, does anybody know approximately how many nodes are taken out and if they actually do leave some in. If none are left in, how does the body compensate for lymph flow? Some people don’t get lymphedema, so there must be some mechanism of routing of fluid? Dale, 111a

Linny
    Participant

That’s great that you’ve a’lready contacted a therapist.

Since you’re having an LND as opposed to a sentinel node biopsy (SNLB) they will be removing most of the nodes from your right groin. I don’t know how many that would encompass but it can number somewhere in the teens. But that’s a guess on my part. They don’t want to leave any behind in case they may contain melanoma cells.

I’m not sure how the body compensates for the lymph flow and would also love to know the answer to that. I had an LND done on my left axilla and can tell you that the fluid does flow somehow because when I give myself a lymph massage on a hot day, I can actually feel it moving back down my arm toward where the lymph nodes were and since I have little or no swelling, it’s going somewhere…LOL.

Your therapist will also discuss other precautions you’ll need to take, such as carrying antibiotic ointment and bandaids with you in case you get a cut or insect bite on the affected leg. If you travel out of country, you may also want to have a prescription of antibiotics on you in the event you get an infection on that affected leg.

Catherine Poole
    Keymaster