Home Forums Melanoma Diagnosis: Stage IV Merck Announces Breakthrough Therapy Designation for Lambrol

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    erinmay22
    Participant

Interesting news this morning around Merck’s pd1 (ps – why do they always name drugs such odd things… lambrolizumab? )

Catherine – this sounds like good news but what exactly does it mean to be given breakthrough therapy designation?

Thanks,

Erin

http://www.marketwatch.com/story/merck-announces-breakthrough-therapy-designation-for-lambrolizumab-an-investigational-antibody-therapy-for-advanced-melanoma-2013-04-24

Tamils
    Participant

Thanks for posting this; that’s really interesting! I’m no expert, but here’s the FDA’s FAQ about Breakthrough Therapy. It’s a new designation just created last year and looks to me to be the fastest track possible for approval. My one (selfish) concern is that they aren’t planning to cut short the Phase I trial that I am hoping my dad will qualify for in June.

http://www.fda.gov/RegulatoryInformation/Legislation/FederalFoodDrugandCosmeticActFDCAct/SignificantAmendmentstotheFDCAct/FDASIA/ucm341027.htm

From a different article

http://www.natap.org/2013/HCV/022213_01.htm