Home Forums Melanoma: Newly Diagnosed – Stages I & II New diagnosis…scared and anxious!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Bdeck1
    Participant

Hey everyone,

I was so happy to find this site after recently being diagnosed with Melanoma. I think I have read every research study and forum concerning Melanoma. I was slightly familiar with the diagnosis as I am a Physician Assistant. However, in the last few days, I feel as though I am now an expert.

I went to the dermatologist about 1.5weeks ago. This was the first time I had seen a dermatologist for a skin exam. She was concerned about a mole on my back and did a shave biopsy. Exactly one week later she called me to tell me the bad news, it is SSM.

To say I am terrified is an understatement. I have two small kids (18 months and 3 years). All I could think about is “I’m going to die from this”.

Since I work in the medical field, I did obtain a copy of the pathology report.

Malignant Melanoma, invasive, superficial spreading, arising in the context of a severely atypical compound melanocytic nevus

Breslow: 0.70mm

Clark level: 4

Deep and peripheral margins: negative

Mitotic: <1

No lymphovascular or peri neural invasion.

Tumor regression: not identified

Growth phase: radial

Ulceration: not identified

Tumor infiltrating lymphocytes: present, non-brisk.

Staging: pT1aNx

From my research, this is a “good” (if anything with melanoma can be considered good) prognosis.

But, I have so much anxiety over it. I am scheduled for a WLE. I have an initial consultation on June 12 with surgical oncologist.

I read so many conflicting studies. Some say Clark’s level has no prognostic indications. While others say there are bad prognostic outcomes for Clark level four lesions and thin melanomas. If clark level is of no significance, why do they even report it?