Home Forums Melanoma: Newly Diagnosed – Stages I & II newly diagnosed nodular melanoma

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    junebug135
    Participant

I’m new to this and glad I found this forum because I feel sick and scared about my diagnosis. I’m 29 (turning 30 next week). I had a biopsy of a mole on my throat done about 1 month ago, and just heard back last week that it was melanoma. 3 different labs looked at it, it came back with melanoma consensus. Went in to meet the plastic surgeon who was recommended and received the pathology report:

malignant melanoma

nodular type (spitzoid)

vertical growth present

level IV

.47 mm

I have a surgery and sentinel node biopsy scheduled for their first available appointment which is june 4. From what I’ve read about nodular melanoma, mere weeks can make a difference because it is a fast spreading type. What can I do? Is this too long to wait or am I being overly scared for nothing and just accept it and try to forget about it until then? Thank you so much in advance for any thoughts and comments.

chas66
    Participant

Hi, just double checking before I comment, the tumor was .47 mm?

cohanja
    Participant

Is sentinel node biopsy needed for 0.47mm thickness? I’m not as familiar with nodular, so maybe it’s different, but for superficial spreading in most cases 0.47mm would not warrant SNB.

junebug135
    Participant

Yes, it is .47mm. Is that hopeful?

The biopsy was “unusual” which is why it was sent to 3 labs to take a look, and my case was presented at a conference. Consensus was malignant nodular melanoma and recommend complete removal and SNB.

Worrywart
    Participant

Who read your pathology? Spitzoid lesions are very complicated. I would find out who read slides bc there is a fine line between benign spitz and melanoma when looking under microscope.