Home Forums Melanoma Diagnosis: Stage IV no appetite

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    RikeJene
    Participant

Hello to all-My husband and I are new to this site, but not new to melanoma! 2010 surgery to remove a large tumor from his neck,along with a parotid gland that tested positive for melanoma. He was treated with interferon for a year and all was great until last summer when there were spots found on his lung. They were removed in November of 2013, after the surgery, he just wasn’t feeling any better(headaches, nausea, culminating in a frightening incident on Thanksgiving Day involving his memory). Testing revealed 2 metastasis in his brain, one involving his eyesight, one involving short term memory and word recall. He is currently being treated with Yervoy, having had one treatment. Our problem is his appetite-he just doesn’t like anything! I’m a cook by trade and I can make anything(and will! :) ) but this is a new challenge. Any tips you folks can give would be so very appreciated! And anything we can answer for anyone else, please feel free. We aren’t experts, but we have been thru some of this and maybe we can offer some insight. Thank You all so much and keep the faith!

Catherine Poole
    Keymaster

Is he on steroids? That can affect appetite in either direction. I would work on getting his blood sugar up too. Otherwise, please discuss with the doctor and an associated nutritionist.

RikeJene
    Participant

TY-I never thought of a nutritionist!

msue5
    Participant