Home Forums Melanoma Diagnosis: Stages I &II Re growing of a biopsied mole

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Webbie73
    Participant

In March I had a shaved biopsy on a flat but slightly raised mole. I have had this mole my whole life and it was stable. It got irritated and did not heal hence the biopsy. Pathology termed it an irritated Nevis and OK. Since that time the mole is growing back. I understand part of the deep roots could have been left behind but I did not expect it to grow especially since it was always stable. Any thoughts?

cohanja
    Participant

I’m not a doctor and you have to do whatever make you comfortable. For me, any signs of pigment regrowth. . . even though still likely to be OK, if it’s changing I would want it removed again.

wpatterson4
    Participant

I’ve had a recurrent nevus, too. It came from one of the two moles my dermatologist took off following my initial diagnosis. After the shave wound healed, I noticed two dark spots in the middle of the scar while looking at my back in the mirror. I then took pictures of it to get a closer look. An intense freak-out ensued. That was early last year, and I’m still here.

My derm told me it’s normal. It simply means that the shave biopsy missed a portion of the mole. Some times this remnant will grow, but it’s not usually malignant. Apparently this phenomenon has caused a lot of anxiety; they don’t call it pseudomelanoma for nothing!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pseudomelanoma

Icegurl470
    Participant