Home Forums Newly Diagnosed Stage III/IV Stage 4, out of the blue

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    jimw
    Participant

Hi – noob here. Thank you for the existence of this forum! So much great information available here, wish I would have found it sooner, it would have saved me a lot of time researching stuff on my own.

Just a few weeks ago, I didn’t know squat about cancer. Then out of the blue, my dad found out he has stage 4 melanoma. He has mets on lungs, liver, spine, adrenal gland, funds of stomach, and brain. Pretty hard to believe at first since I just saw him last over the holidays in Dec and he seemed fine. Then he and my mom went to Hawaii for a few weeks, and he was feeling tired and his back was sore. He figured it was just from sitting in the chair in a weird way, but it didn’t get better when he got back, so he went into his doc who ordered a chest x-ray. That’s when they saw the spots, and ordered CT scans, MRI, etc, and that’s when he craziness started. Within a week he had this diagnosis. I went up to visit and help out for the past 3 weeks. He immediately started 2 weeks of whole-brain radiation. Then on Thurs immediately after his last radiation treatment, he had his first Ipi infusion.

I had also found some studies showing that GM-CSF used in combination with Ipi seemed to improve the efficacy and reduce the side effects of Ipi, so I mentioned it to his oncologist who was willing to try it. Thankfully the insurance covered it, so he’s also getting daily Leukine injections.