Home Forums Melanoma Diagnosis: Stage IV Update on Amy

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    zephyr66
    Participant

Wow, it’s been a rough few weeks. Whew. Amy had two hospitalizations back to back. First was for severe constipation that led to her vomiting bile, out of control blood pressure over 200 and feeling absolutely terrible. She had to have an NG tube and other stuff. It was from the long term morphine use that ironically she was just getting off after a year and a half. Then when she got home, she was hospitalized a few days later from non psychotic delirium. Her whole personality changed, she was suicidal, angry, severely depressed and her mood swings were more than anyone could handle (and I’m a mental health therapist). She was a completely different person. Turns out, it was most likely due to prednisone she was just recently prescribed for some minor side effects from clinical trial meds. Experience at the hospital was not good. We went on palliative care floor and they just wanted to give Amy Haldol for the delirium and I say absolutely no to that. Then they wanted to give her Depakote which I wasn’t crazy about and said, “let’s wait”. The doctor got angry at me because I complained to him about some poor care from a couple staff and ended up telling me I was “in denial” and even if we didn’t come up with a reason why Amy was having this problem, it was “disease progression”. He ended up telling me the “stages of grief” (uh, hello – i do grief counseling in my private practice) and said that I had to come to terms with her condition and outcome. Unbelievable. We will NEVER go to the palliative unit again there. Of course, the oncologist disagreed with their “disease progression” answer. Well, the long and short of it is that Amy came out of all of it and is doing better than she has in months. The trial medication (braf/mek) is working well. She is no longer using the walker and wheel chair and her leg f