Home Forums Melanoma Diagnosis: Stage IV What is the best next step??

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Bateman
    Participant

Hello,

I’m new to this blog but would really appreciate any advice people can give.

Earlier this year (Feb) my Dad had a cancerous Tumor removed from his lung to find it was melanoma. The Drs then realised that a growth he’d had removed from his head a year before and was perviously thought to be fine, was actually melanoma.

He then had a clear CT scan 3months later and has recently had another scan which unfortunately has shown 7 small metastices on his brain, the largest of which is 11mm.

Yesterday he finished two weeks of full brain radiation treatment an is now in he process of weaning himself off his steroids.

We live in Auckland, New Zealand and the treatment opportunities here seem fairly limited and receive no government funding.

I would love to know what you think would be his best next step, Dads open to travelling abroad for drug trials/treatments but we are a bit lost as to what to do and where to go.

Dads ongologist has suggested nilmibulab (not sure how to spell it) which costs around 200 000 NZ$. From what I can see online drug combination treatments seem to have better results in terms of effectiveness but you seem to have to start with nilmibulab before you can be comsidered for alternative treatments.

Any advice or direction would be great. It would also be great to make contact with others effected my Melanoma living in NZ.

Thanks,

Penny

JBunyan
    Participant