• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    CcopeD
    Participant

Hello everyone,

I realize you all are not necessarily medical professionals (or maybe you are!). I am asking for general experiences on when you decided to/not to get SLNB. What tipped the scale for you?

My first derm was not a very responsive nor informative doctor. He told me not to get further treatment for my melanoma. I sought a second opinion (mainly to just switch doctors) and this derm tells me that I’m right on the cusp of when to get a SLNB; therefore, he does not have a suggestion one way or the other. He says its up to me; but, I’m not a doctor and am having difficulty making this decision. I realize my melanoma is not advanced; but, any opinions you have will be appreciated.

I am a 30 year old female with no family history of melanoma; but lots a strange moles on my body. My melanoma was diagnosed last summer (2012) in my upper right arm. My current derm says I might consider getting it done due to my young age and mitoses rate.

Here is my pathology report:

Malignant melanoma arising in association with a compound nevus.

Thickness: 0.6MM

Anatomic Level: Early Clark’s Level IV

Radial Growth Phase: Present

Vertical Growth Phase: Present

Mitoses: 4 per MM2

Tumor Infiltrating Lymphocytes: Present, non-brisk

Ulceration: absent

Necrosis: absent

Regression: absent

Margins: peripheral, positive; deep, negative

Again, just thoughts and anecdotes on your personal journey will be helpful!

Thank you in advance

cohanja
    Participant

Hello,

Your melanoma was diagnosed last summer, so I’m assuming that’s when you had the WLE?